This is me….

Today I am randomly inspired to write…..thanks to my blogger friend at http://www.thesavingsmomma.com, HAPPY BIRTHDAY Ashley!!!!

Blogging? I can’t blog. I’m a stay at home mom of 4 and a crafter, that’s just what I do. Do I sell my crafts? Not really…Why not? Your stuff is awesome, you should! I would buy that! People always ask me, ” How do you DO that???  Well maybe I should start writing these things down.

So why don’t I sell my crafts, that is a good question. So let me attempt to answer that.

Well the story goes, I tried a few craft shows, but I have a tough time choosing my direction. I want to knit, I want to crochet, I want to sew! I am like Veruca Salt in Charlie and the Chocolate factory, I WANT IT ALL! I get bored with one thing; I crochet a baby blanket and then I’m tired of that, I want to knit something. Or it’s summer time and I want to make beach cover-ups and sun hats for the kids, sundresses and flip flops. I see something on TV and I want to make it. I want to do it all, and quite frankly that confuses people. I’m like a an ADHD kid in a Game Shop; I don’t know what I want to do or where I want to go first. I have sooooooo many ideas that I get frustrated with the fact that I have to choose just one….just one? BORING!!!!

I'm going to make some of these someday with BLUE JEANS!!!
I’m going to make some of these someday with BLUE JEANS!!!

Have you ever been on Pinterest??? Holy crap!!! Talk about a kid in a candy shop….I couldn’t stop pinning! My eyes are burning from the last 24 hours. I was recently introduced to the site and well, I’m addicted! There is a ton of inspiration on there, but I’ll save those details for another story. In the mean time, I’ll let you check it out for yourself.

Anyhoo, I’m one of those people who loves to go to craft shows not to shop but to be inspired. I’m not a thief; I don’t steal people’s ideas to resell, that would be morally wrong. I’m just semi-frugal, simple and artistic. I like to build and create things with my hands. I cannot open my wallet for something I can so easily do myself for pennies on the dollar. I just can’t. I REFUSE to buy Halloween costumes, I love to make them! Ok, I bought one once, but that’s it. Isn’t everything better homemade? Did I mention that I made Spongebob Squarepants from yellow sponges???

This is Sebastian. He loved his costume!

Yes that’s me. Now you can see where I’m going with this blog. I am one of THOSE people. I go to a craft show and say, “I can make that!” Sure there are lots of people who say that, the difference with me is that yes I can make it. Sometimes I can make things better, I put my own touch on crafts that makes them different and my own. I literally absorb what I see and I bring that inspiration home.

I have to give thanks to my grandmother, who likes to be called, Mema. Thank you for giving me the crafty gene, or crafty jeans as I like to call them. [JEANS!!! Did I mention that I am absolutely obsessed with recycling blue jeans??? Yes, yes, I am!] Anyhoo, Mema is truly my inspiration. With 6 children she managed to make all the kids Halloween costumes every year, she made other clothing for them as well. I see pictures and I always hear, oh your grandmother made that outfit, sewed on Girl Scout badges, cooked, cleaned, and she still had time to play. She ran the household. If she can do it so canI. Mema started this all! She gave me a needle and thread when I was about 4 years old—YES, 4. No I’m not kidding. I clearly remember the day.

My first recycled blue jean purse!

Mema was visiting, and she was sitting down working on a hem on a skirt. It was a blueish-purpleish striped skirt. ***NOTE*** Mema ONLY wears skirts. This is just the way it is. She cut a few inches off the skirt and I asked her if I could have the pieces. She asked me what I wanted them for and I plainly told her I wanted to make a purse. That’s when it happened—-she threaded a needle for me, and placed it in my hand.  <<<<<<<<ahhhhhhhhh>>>>>> like angels singing! It was one of those moments where the light of God surrounds you and shimmers upon an item. (You know what I’m talking about right??? I’m probably just nuts…)

Anyhoo, it was a magical moment. Mema taught me how to sew a basic running stitch, and sewing right sides together. I made something that looked a little like this:

No….mine didn’t look like this, it was just 2 rectangles sewn together on 3 sides, with a single loop from one side to the other for a handle.

Nothing spectacular, but I was 4 so what do you expect? I couldn’t find something that looks just like what I had made, and I didn’t have the time to recreate one today….maybe next time. 🙂

So that was the beginning.

The next <<<<<ahhhhhhh>>>>>>>> inspirational moment, I was about 10 years old and rummaging through some of Mema’s things when I came across a pair of knitting needles. Yup….oh Jeez!!

I honestly could talk about all my “firsts” in crafting, but I’m sure that would bore you to tears. I will keep things fairly short and sweet just to give you a peek at my life. The rest will come with time. The amount of history in crafting I have is half the reason why I am beginning this blog. I am always asked how to make crafty items and I guess it’s time to share.

The other half of my reasoning for this blog is that I woke up this morning and just felt like a blogger. Sounds strange huh? Well, it’s news to me too. I mean, I hate writing. Well I hate writing research papers anyway. Here I am just 4 days away from completing my Bachelor’s degree. I have had endless amounts of writing and I’m tired of it. Now here I am on the verge of a new adventure. But that’s what they say don’t they? You close one door just to open another….

So here’s to a new adventure—an adventure down the crafty road, my road, my chaotic life, and welcome aboard! There will love, laughter, inspiration, and a ton of creativity. With 4 kids in tow this will be quite the show (Did I just rhyme? Gosh that was cheesy), because nothing is ever simple in this life.

Many times I find a bedroom full of children and hundreds of crayons and it can be a gigantic catastrophe, but at least it’s a creative one. Some days we chase butterflies and dig for dinosaur bones, other days we play in cardboard boxes and go commando— but only if you are 3 and your name is Sebastian. Some days my house sparkles and other days I would swear that a paint truck crashed in my living room, and a hydrogen bomb exploded in the bathroom (ok that was excessive, but how about an h2O bomb. This is a snapshot of a day in my life, one page at a time. Welcome to my Clever Catastrophe, and all things crafty. 🙂

Chasing Butterflies, and finding giant moths!

Don’t forget to visit me on ETSY, and LIKE my page on Facebook to keep up with all the goodies!!!!

6 thoughts on “This is me….

  1. Sounds great, Heidi! I’m trying kirigami, like the wedding present I sent for Curtis and Kayla.
    You did inherit the crafting gene for sure!

    1. 🙂 Thanks Sharyn! That gift was sooooo neato. I loved it and Curt and Kayla really did too! Hope the family doesn’t mind me sharing a little about our crafty lifestyle with the world!

  2. Let’s share the crafty lifestyle, you got the gene. I have an antique Singer, one of the small ones. I don’t know why I’m hanging onto it except that it is so cute. And I have all the accessories like the button hole maker.

    1. It is exciting to share. I’m trying to teach Hannah and she has a little bit, but she needs to learn patience. I still have my sewing machine that you got me for my 15th birthday. 😉 It still runs beautifully. It’s a great starter machine, and I’m going to be teaching Hannah on it this summer!

Leave a Reply

