Unfinished Business

Ever have a bunch of projects you started ages ago but you never finished? Remember this conversation yesterday about an A.D.D. kid in a game shop? This is where I come in. Do you know how many projects I have started and left unfinished?? You do? Well I don’t! Haha! I start new projects all the time because something inspires me and then….I either get bored or I decide to start something else new and exciting. I DO finish projects, [eventually *sigh*] don’t get me wrong, I just have a hard time staying on the same path for too long. I prioritize I should say.

I have a few baby showers coming up and I know I need to get me booty in gear (*arg –that’s right with the pirate attitude, I said ME BOOTY! What can I say, the kids are watching a pirate cartoon…) I need to get my baby projects rolling. Well my hindering factors include my baby girl, Shelby who is 15 months old, and blankie-less. Not completely, she has some handmade blankets from her Auntie Kayla (or, La-La as she calls her), and other random blankets, but she doesn’t have one from me. All my kids have a handmade blankie from me. I started crocheting Shelby’s blankie when I was pregnant and I was so excited about it!  I nearly finished it, but then she came 4 weeks early.

A blankie from Auntie Kayla
Another blankie from Auntie Kayla

Things were a little crazy then because I was totally unprepared for a preemie, well, who is? At least she wasn’t too early; she was definitely ready. Shelby was 7 pounds, 9 ounces! If I had gone completely to term she would have been 9 and 1/2 pounds, sheesh! My other children were all born at 38 weeks, and good sized as well, so this was a little bit of a shock having her coming this early. You would think that the 4th time around I would be prepared, but nope, not me, queen of procrastination!

Just home form the hospital

So life was busy with a newbie and Shelby’s blankie went into a pile of stuff, yes, stuff. Then a few weeks ago, something randomly inspired me, I can’t tell you what that something was but there is a lot of randomness in my life if you can’t already tell. Anyhoo, back to the inspiration part, SOMETHING inspired me and I decided to pull out my box of handmade stuff that I put into a few craft shows. I was so excited to see all the beautiful things I created and attempted to sell at one point. Money is always tight around here so why don’t I sell them again I thought….ponder. Hmm.

Here I am staring at a potential business and I’m stumped at where to begin. I run into the problem again of choosing a direction. Everything I have is mostly knit and crocheted but I just get bored. I want to do more! Then I thought, what about Etsy? I could open an Etsy shop and because it’s online, I don’t HAVE to choose one direction, I can just include a little bit of everything can’t I? Sure I can! So on to new adventures. ***I’m not going to show you my crafts yet, I’ll save that for another post when I get my shop up and running. ***

This was a few weeks ago. And I’m still sitting here with no shop. What is wrong with me? Why do I have such a hard time making changes and moving forward with things. Well the big thing holding me back was Shelby’s blankie sitting in a pile of unfinished stuff. Something in my gut said that I couldn’t proceed to make any other kid a blanket or open up my shop without finishing my own daughter’s blankie first. I know I know, I could have posted all my cool stuff on Etsy by now, selling stuff and making money, but it just does not feel right until I at least finish Shelby’s blankie. So, I cracked the whip.

TA-DA!!!!! I finished it a few days ago, but I tucked it away because I have yet to weave in all the ends, I’ve been dreading it, it’s so time consuming and just boring. It is my least favorite part of knitting and crocheting. I find absolutely no joy in finishing a beautiful project then having to tuck in all the teensy pieces. When I’m done with a project that’s it, I’m DONE, I don’t want to do it anymore.

Doesn’t she look so cute? Oh yes, she is in a tie-dye shirt that I made myself….and the hat, oh jeez—yes I just finished the hat too! But I have to talk about the hats and tie dyeing later.  I have decided after taking some pictures of little Miss Shelby with it, I think I like the fringe. No, I’m not just being lazy and deciding not to weave in all the ends, I just think that the fringe looks pretty. Of course you normally wouldn’t see an afghan with fringe all up and down the sides, usually it’s on the ends. But I kinda like it. I’m debating whether or not to add more fringe so that it looks like it was meant to be there and not just me being lazy. Yes, I’m going to add more fringe, definitely. What do you think? Do you despise weaving in ends as much as I do? Do have a ba-zillion unfinished projects like I do? What’s next on your to-do list?

Don’t forget to visit me on ETSY, and LIKE my page on Facebook to keep up with all the goodies!!!!

One thought on “Unfinished Business

  1. LoL I was just thinking the same thing … just add the fringes on the side. It’ll give the blanket a different look. And yes, I also have WIPs in my craft closet. I work on them every now and then. My excuse for that is that when I finish the WIPs, I finish them all at the same time, and instead of one finished project at a time, I have several finished projects at one time!

Leave a Reply

