Designing Upcycles Part 1

So here is a post that I promised! Some of you have seen my work, but I always forget to share my business with my blog followers. I have been working really hard this week to direct my blog more toward my business. After all, the reason I began blogging was to find another avenue to network with people who are interested in what I do. Blogging is another way to share and promote my business.

I love to upcycle everything. I love to recycle old blue jeans,  t-shirts, and more. Sometimes I buy new t-shirts if they are clearance and OH SO CUTE, but I try to use as much as I can from thrift tees and donated tees. Some people are picky about using thrift tees but the beginning of upcycling started when people began using clothing that no longer fit their children to make “new” clothing. So my philosophy is that “upcycling” should be exactly that—-it is taking something that is partially unusable and creating something new with it that serves a purpose. I have a few bags of clothing and miscellaneous items that have been donated to me for upcycling. I will find something to do with anything! Yes, this is half the reason that I have sooooo much stuff. It is extremely difficult to throw thing s away when you have so many useful ideas for them.!

Anyhoo—on to the goodies.

This is another post that is going to be full of pictures! I won’t need to explain much!

In March, and in June, I participated in a “Designer’s Day” in one of my Facebook groups : Upcycles Galore. This is a group for upcycle re-sells, but every few months they like to host a big day for designers to show off their work, and make some sales. It’s a big fun day with lots of goodies, auctions, $1 giveaways, designer deals, accessories, and more! It is a closed group so you have to join to be able to see what goes on over there. whether you are new to upcycles or a seasoned fan, the group is a ton of fun for everyone.

Here are the goodies I listed:

10 ruffle skirt
Blue jeans to skirt upcycle. Ruffles from old tee shirts!
fanned out punk
“Franken-Stitched” punk upcycled black jeans and new cotton prints.
Up close---This is Franken'stitching. :) a bunch of pieces of denim sewn together like a crazy quilt and turned into a big piece of fabric.
Up close—This is “Franken-stitching” 🙂 *** a bunch of pieces of denim sewn together like a crazy quilt and turned into a big piece of fabric.
fanned out overalls
A pair of overalls recycled and turned into a dress!!!
The overalls with matching ruffle pants!!
The overalls with matching ruffle pants!!
Upcycled blue jeans dress and ruffle jeans!
Upcycled blue jeans dress and ruffle jeans!
DSC01755
Love this Pac-Man shirt!!! Cut and shaped then added sleeves and ruffles to make a cute dress!
dollar giveaway
This was a $1 giveaway! A pair of jeans upcycled to a cute ruffle skirt.
I listed this as a custom spot. I had three tees and planned these fabrics to use with them.
I listed this as a custom spot. I had three tees and planned these fabrics to use with them.

DSC01803 DSC01809DSC01806

These are the custom dresses I created with the Horse tees and fabrics. Wicked cute!!!

DSC01807
Ruffles up close!

So I don’t want to bore you like crazy so I am splitting this post up into 2 and sharing my items from the next Designer day on the next post!

As Always — Don’t forget to visit me on ETSY, and LIKE my page on Facebook to keep up with all the goodies!!!! Any of the above items that DID NOT sell are listed in my shop. 🙂

 

For Designing Upcycles Part 2 click HERE.

3 thoughts on “Designing Upcycles Part 1

Leave a Reply

